May 23, 2024  
2005-2006 Undergraduate Catalog 
2005-2006 Undergraduate Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

Initial Teacher Certification in Inclusive Education

Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: Academic Programs A-Z

An overall GPA of 2.7 is expected of students enrolled in teacher preparatory programs.  All students in teacher certification programs must have a GPA of 2.7 before they enroll for the student teaching semester.

Students will be eligible for initial certification when they have completed all requirements for the baccalaureate degree.  They will have demonstrated competence at 2.0 or above in each required course of their certification programs, satisfactorily demonstrated competence to teach during student teaching, and have successfully completed the New York State Teacher Certification Examinations: Liberal Arts and Science Test (LAST), the Written Assessment of Teaching Skills (ATS-W) and the appropriate Content Specialty Test (CST).

Required Courses for Inclusive Education

The following courses are required for Quad Inclusive Education certification. The Quad Inclusive program includes: Childhood Education (Grades 1-6), Childhood with Disabilities (Grades 1-6), Middle Childhood (Grades 5-9), and Middle Childhood with Disabilities (Grades (5-9).

Sample Program for Inclusive Education

Below is a semester-by-semester breakdown of when the required courses for Inclusive Education should be taken.

Spring - Sophomore Year

Fall - Junior Year

Spring - Junior Year

Fall - Senior Year

Professional Semester

Spring - Senior Year

Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: Academic Programs A-Z